Google Analytics enables you to create user accounts with different user permissions. It is important to control user permissions because some staff members will only need to read the data, while others will need to manage what data is collected, alter how it is collected and manage user access.

This also helps to avoid multiple people changing the settings in Google Analytics, which could have detrimental effects on your reporting. It is best only to give full-edit access to users who understand the implications of configuration changes.

To assign permissions

You can assign user permissions at the account, property, and view levels.

  1. Click Admin.
  2. Click User Management in the ACCOUNT, PROPERTY, or VIEW column.

Four permissions are available that you can apply singly or in combination:

  1. Manage Users
    – Can manage account users (add/delete users, assign permissions). Does not include Edit or Collaborate.
  2. Edit
    – Can perform administrative and report-related functions (e.g., add/edit/delete accounts, properties, views, filters, goals, etc., but not manage users), and see report data.
    – Edit permission is required at the account level to create filters.
    – Edit permission is required at the view level to apply filters.
    – Includes Collaborate.
  3. Collaborate
    – Can create personal assets, and share them.
    – Can collaborate on shared assets, for example, edit a dashboard or annotation. Includes Read & Analyze.
  4. Read & Analyze
    – Can see report and configuration data; can manipulate data within reports (e.g., filter a table, add a secondary dimension, create a segment); can create personal assets, and share them, and see shared assets.
    – Cannot collaborate on shared assets.